Under the Stairs

Here I am again, on my own.
The door has closed on me,

Dark is what I know,
A strip of moonlight settles on the floor.
I can make it out from underneath this bolted door.
I wish that I could climb these stairs,
Reach the window, see out there.
But I’m a prisoner and only see the underside,
Imagining the night-time,
And the world that seemed so wide.

CHORUS:
Once I read about the power of night,
A kind of magic sets the world alight.
And I watch the back of the door,
And the moonlight on the floor
And i hope that some day I’ll see
A magic just like that.
I pull a spider off my pillowcase,
Lay down on the bed and start to stare into space.
I close my eyes, begin to drift away,
Far beyond these four walls where I wish I could stay.
If only I could see the sky,
Spend one night that I’m not blind.
But I’m a prisoner and only see the under-side,
Imagining the night-time,
And the world that seemed so wide.

Once I read about the power of night,
A kind of magic sets the world alight.
And I watch the back of the door,
And the moonlight on the floor
And i hope that some day I’ll see
A magic just like that.

Listen to this song on the album: https://itunes.apple.com/us/album/songs-from-under-the-stairs/id404908688

Leave a Reply

